Home

Image

 

 

Group 5’s photo essay topic was Harmony in Architecture, displayed through a trip around Washington, DC. My specific area of focus was around the home of our president, the White House. From our photo essay and my adventure to the White House and its surrounding attractions I felt there was one picture that stood out in terms of quality. This photo was shot from the south side capturing the backside of the White House.

 I felt there were three photographic aspects in which this piece really excelled. The first aspect is the use of the rule of thirds. In the photograph the White House is the focus and the use of the rule of thirds creates ‘drama’ and makes it much more interesting and aesthetically pleasing. It also allows for other interesting parts of the photo to come forth such as the tree to the left and the fountain to the right.

The second element is the shadows that are captured. The shadows that are captured on the face and the lawn of the White House I found to be large contributors to effectiveness of this photograph. The shadows in this piece add an interesting contrast that creates depth to the photo. The shadows make for another interesting aspect of the picture and the contrast between the dark shadow and the White House (or the other light features of the photograph) really pull a viewer in.

The last point I would like to focus on is the emotions this photograph evokes. The big question is always; does this photo make you feel something strongly? For me the answer is yes. This photograph evokes a strong sense of pride and patriotism. It makes me proud of my country and makes me feel fortunate that despite our mild political squabbles, we are one of the greatest and most successful countries in the world. The image also makes me appreciate the marvelous architecture all throughout Washington, DC.

Overall, I felt this photo of the White House was an excellent selection from our photo essay. I believe this image exhibits several worthy photographic characteristics such as the rule of thirds, use of shadows, and the evoking of strong emotions.   

 

Leave a comment